Happy Birthday to Me

I’ve been doing this little blog shindig for a year now!

I haven’t been as consistent as I would have liked. I honestly didn’t think it would be as hard as it has been. Blogging has been something really new for me when I really needed something new. There are lots of pros to blogging, some that I knew going into this, and some that I found out later.

Most of the ones I knew beforehand have to do with improving my writing. I wanted more practice that didn’t involve fiction writing. All I’ve ever done is write fiction and leave each story half finished; I never liked how my style made the story flow. I need more practice. I get that every time I flesh out a new post.

I also wanted to be a part of fandom that I had never been a part of before. I wanted to write reviews and discuss ideas and get out of my comfort zone. I don’t talk about fandom in real life and I can’t really discuss my hatred for Percy Weasley in 140 characters. I connect to an inter webs where millions of other Percy haters, just like me, are talking about it too.

The best unknown part of this whole blogging experience has been the community. Without this blog I wouldn’t have found #otspsecretsister and I wouldn’t have the friends I have now. In fact, most of my smiles each day come from that beautiful bunch of ladies. I can’t even imagine my life without those ladies.

All of this because I started this blog a year ago.

I’m not really having a celebration, really. I don’t feel like I’ve been consistently blogging over this year; I don’t feel committed enough. I’m excited that I’ve made it this far though, and I hope to get better as I go on. It’s really hard keeping up with a blog with, you know, real life and all. The good thing is I have a lot of people in the community to look up to; some of my favorite bloggers are moms, hold high-demand jobs, and are in graduate school (or all of these above plus something or other). If those ladies can do it, I can do it. Mostly I just wanted to write up a post about what I expected from this blog and what I ended up getting even though I may not have expected it. I really love blogging a lot more than I thought I was going to, despite the hard work. It’s a good way to practice my informal writing in a world that demands structured work (believe me I can write five page essays in my sleep, thanks for asking).

I think the biggest change I’m going to make to my blog is more consistency but shorter posts. Before I felt like every post needed to be 1,500 words (I’m literally always thinking in structured form someone literally save me from myself) but I think I’m going to get better content, better practice, and better response with shorter posts. It’ll be a challenge to get good content into those shorter posts.

Such excite! Very future!

If you are looking for a kinda cool way to celebrate (yeah, I know, I said there’d be no celebrating) with me, you can head over to my bookstagram and enter in my giveaway!

*fades out with birthday theme*

*tosses confetti*

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me

Leave a Reply

