#Bookstagram

Guys. I did a thing. In the midst of a little thing I like to call, Finals Month (because apparently my professors think Finals Week means the last four weeks of the semester?), I got super backed up on blogging. So, since I knew I had zero time to write quality blogs and still pass EPE301 et cetera et cetera, I thought: What can I do to keep my bookish blog a-flowin’? Off went the proverbial lightbulb.

Bookstagram.

Instagram is fast, easy to use, and I have a million books. How hard could this be? Turns out, kinda hard. Bookstagram has blown up recently and almost everyone is doing it There are some huge accounts out there and they are seriously beautiful. As in, these people should be professional photographers if they’re not already. Stunning. Elegant. Impressive. It’s a lot to take in as a newbie, and quite frankly a little scary. Thankfully, the community of people are so, so, so, so humble and kind! I get compliments on my pictures almost daily now, and each time I have reached out to a veteran bookstagrammer, they have been so supportive, kind, and just straight up wonderful.

I’m going to treat my bookstagram as an extension of my blog. I have this blog to improve my writing and creative ability not only for my personal writing, but for my career as well. My bookstagram is scratching an itch that I’ve had for a while which is exploring photography. I’m hoping to grow my aesthetic and ability to communicate my thoughts without words.

I posted my first picture on April 17th, and I’ve been trying to post at least twice a day. That’s a lot of material! I went into this thinking it would be quick and easy but it’s so far from that! For example, as I am writing this, I’m being a couch potato because I did two separate shoots today that totaled six hours! I did get about ten really good shots but when you think about it, that’s only five days worth of material if I continue to post twice a day. *sweats profusely* Even though it’s a lot more than I thought it was going to be, I can’t bring myself to not like it. I love every second, even when I can’t get the accessories in a photo just right, or I can’t find what I’m looking for, or the shot isn’t turning out at all like I envisioned. I have always said I do love a good challenge.

Here are a few of my favorites so far:

Photo Apr 22-2Photo Apr 24Photo Apr 22-3Photo Apr 27Photo Apr 22Photo Apr 24-2Photo Apr 30

You can follow me on Instagram at growingupbooknerd !

A little birdie told me there’s a ~giveaway~ going on over there too. themoreyouknow.

3 thoughts on “#Bookstagram

  1. Some people (YOU) are just too talented at bookstagramming! Congrats on making a bookstagram, and for sticking through finals month. It can be so hard to keep up with life as well as blogging >_< your pictures look great! I especially love the black covers one 😀

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah Bookstagram seems easy but definitely takes more effort. I’ve been trying to up my game when it comes to photographs. I’ve got to get better at using props and working with lighting but it definitely brings the fun! Glad to see you’re already doing so well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

