Pottermore and More Potter

Once upon a time people couldn’t get a single squeak out of JKR on the Potterverse. Now she tweets with a vengeance (she’s so hilarious, if you don’t follow her it should be a crime). Aside from her social media outbursts, there’s so much stuff going on for the fandom I’m surprised there haven’t been more reports of spontaneous combustion on the news. Pottermore was re-released, then The Cursed Child was announced as a play and then announced as a published script. There’s so much. I kind of need to write it down to process it all, so that’s what about to go down.

First of all, let’s talk about Pottermore. I liked the old site well enough. The games were fun but once you were done, there wasn’t anything else to do except go back and do it again. I joined after the wand quiz was already taken down, so I was sorted, but not given my proper wand. In Original Pottermore, I was sorted as a hatstall between Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff (PROUD RAVENPUFF!). My official house is Ravenclaw. On new Pottermore, you have the choice to recover your old account information or you can be resorted. I decided to tempt the fates and resort myself, just to prove subconsciously I’m a real Ravenpuff. Good news: I was a hatstall again. Even good-er (ow, that hurt me to type) news: I was a Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff hatstall again. Pottermore official TWICE.

You can imagine my excitement at the wand quiz. When I went to The Wizarding World in Orlando, I just read the wand description and picked what I thought fit me best but now I was going to know for real.

Cyprus Wood, Phoenix Feather Core, 10 3/4″, Unyielding Flexability

Pottermore says:

Cypress wands are associated with nobility. The great medieval wandmaker, Geraint Ollivander, wrote that he was always honoured to match a cypress wand, for he knew he was meeting a witch or wizard who would die a heroic death. Fortunately, in these less blood-thirsty times, the possessors of cypress wands are rarely called upon to lay down their lives, though doubtless many of them would do so if required. Wands of cypress find their soul mates among the brave, the bold and the self-sacrificing: those who are unafraid to confront the shadows in their own and others’ natures.

This is the rarest core type. Phoenix feathers are capable of the greatest range of magic, though they may take longer than either unicorn or dragon cores to reveal this. They show the most initiative, sometimes acting of their own accord, a quality that many witches and wizards dislike. Phoenix feather wands are always the pickiest when it comes to potential owners, for the creature from which they are taken is one of the most independent and detached in the world. These wands are the hardest to tame and to personalise, and their allegiance is usually hard won.

Uhm, yes please

New Pottermore didn’t just bring these quizzes back, they completely redesigned the site. Now it’s mobile friendly and full of block color (ha). Now instead of games, we have information and some person who is our reporter and relays us the new information in the Potterverse. Personally, I love this new Pottermore. The original one was great, but after one time through, you couldn’t do anything new. So this version is just as great, if not better because now it’s mobile friendly!

Moving on-

The Cursed Child play was announced last year and you can find more information about that here. In October, I bought tickets to see that in London, and have been saving up to go there next January to see it (bye bye paycheck hello, London). At the beginning of this year, it was announced that the play’s script was going to be published and sold which is very exciting for those who can’t make it to London to see it in person.

The only problem with this is that lots of people heard the publishing of the script part and got all, “OMG JKR I WRITING ANOTHER HARRY POTTER BOOK!!” Lol no she’s not, stop. All they’re doing is publishing a physical copy of the script that JKR did not write. Yeah, it’s her world and her characters and her STORY; it’s not her writing. She advised, certainly, and she’s even a producer of the play, but she DID NOT write that script, and it’s not a book. You guys wouldn’t believe the amount of people saying that and every single time I want to beat them over the head with a Firebolt.

I digress.I just think about how I’ll be in London in ten months, sip my Butterbeer, and pretend those people are as real as Nargals.

And last but not least, Fantastic Beasts (YAY A NEW MOVIE!!!).

Now I don’t keep quite as up to date on this news, but I’m still uber excited about it. All we know is that Newt Scamander is creating havoc in New York with his magic suitcase full of wicked awesome beasts. Recently, there was an event where some Harry Potter cast members attended and got the honor of revealing more information on the other magic schools all over the world (More of that information will be available, and expanded, on Pottermore.)!

There are some super sirius developments happening in the Potterverse, friends.

Leave a Reply

