Hump-day Highlight: The Book Addict’s Guide!

The Book Addict’s Guide is a blog where a whole host of bookish things go on! Before we take a spin through her site, let’s meet the lady behind the scenes: Brittany!

BookAddictsGuide

Who are you?

Hi! I’m Brittany from The Book Addict’s Guide. I started blogging almost four years ago (omg! How time flies) and basically started with only book reviews and mostly for adult mysteries and contemporary. Since then, I’ve transitioned into anything and everything bookish, covering tons of topics, and fell in love with YA lit. I still read adult mysteries on occasion and also fell in love with fantasy, YA and adult alike. I recently started a candle store on Etsy called Novelly Yours because I fell in love with candle-making and naturally had to create book-inspired candles!
Outside of the book/blogging world… I live in the Chicago suburbs with my husband (we just celebrated our one-year anniversary a few months ago)! Together we love to travel, homebrew our own beer, and go camping.

What is your favorite book or series? Why?

I have quite a few so… totally cheating on this question! The obvious go-tos are The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer and The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo! I’m definitely a book collector and collect foreign editions (and really any editions) of my favorite books/series so these two collections are errr… sort of huge! I’ve recently grown obsessed with some amazing adult fantasy from Brandon Sanderson (the Mistborn series — also The Reckoners Trilogy but that is YA) and Patrick Rothfuss (The Kingkiller Chronicle).  I also love Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series, am obsessed with Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle series, and love YA contemporaries like Gayle Forman, Rainbow Rowell, and Emery Lord. I’m sorry that’s a lot but these are all VERY important things to know about my reading habits and recommendations haha!!

Is there a particular book or series that has changed your life?

Probably Harry Potter (which is also a favorite and collection, obviously). This is always a hard question because several books have impacted me but never really have been actually life-changing. Harry Potter is probably the closest thing! It’s allowed me to connect with so many people and enjoy the books/movies with my family and friends! It’s really been a way to share my bookish love with so many people, even if they’re not readers.

How has reading in general impacted your life?

Before I started blogging, it was just a fun hobby. I really got back into reading when I was in college and it sort of spiraled out of control from there! I started my blog in 2012 and found this whole community of amazing people who shared the same interest and I’ve made best and life-long friendships with people from the book/blogging community. (Literally. These girls were bridesmaids in my wedding.)

The friendships are the most notable thing but reading has impacted my life in so many ways. I’ve found a hobby that I really love and is so rewarding. I attend local book events and travel to conferences. I’ve been fortunate enough to review books that I have received from publishers, interview so many amazing authors, moderate a panel at a book event, had the idea and drive to open my Etsy store, and really so much more. Having my blog has also helped me really grow in my writing as well as push the boundaries of my creativity. It’s really done  nothing but enhance my life in so many ways.

If you could spend a day with any author, who would it be, and what would you do?

Probably Leigh Bardugo! She is just SUCH a delight. She’s so warm and welcoming every time I see her at events, she’s so funny and always makes me laugh, and she’s just an all-around badass lady. I have no idea what we’d do! I’ve never been good at planning outings!

What character can you most relate to? Why? Cricket from Nantucket Blue and Allyson from Just One Day. I haven’t lived their exact stories of course (no summer in Nantucket or trip to Europe for me) but I really connected with their personalities and really feel like I would have reacted — and did react — similarly in their situations. I’ve had experiences with friends and/or crushes that turned out similarly and just really felt like I could understand and had been there.

When and why did you start blogging? Tell us your blog’s story!

My friend Lisa found this used bookstore in our neighborhood and we started frequenting this place like it was our new religion. I ended up buying SO many used books and just inhaling all of these stories and I really wanted a place to share my thoughts with other people through reviews. I love giving book recommendations and I thought a book blog would be helpful! (I really have no idea how I came up with a blog. I had never blogged before, didn’t follow any blogs, and no one I knew had a blog. I was on Goodreads but apparently that wasn’t enough! Haha.) So I started with a few reviews in 2012 and started following other people and then really dove head first into this awesome community!

I had originally started reading cozy mysteries and adult contemporary but then Lisa gave me The Hunger Games and I NEEDED more dystopian novels. I read Delirium by Lauren Oliver and loved it and couldn’t find any adult dystopian much to my dismay. I started inhaling more YA dystopian and quickly found that it didn’t matter what age range the books were — I just wanted more awesome stories. YA dystopian was my gateway to young adult and then I realized the variety that was there and quickly switched to a YA fanatic!

You recently opened an Etsy shop! How has that experience been for you? Where did you get the inspiration from?

I did! I’ve always enjoyed candles and have wanted to make my own for a while but I didn’t take the plunge until a few months ago. I went through a series of hiccups that involved doing things juuuust a bit wrong and my candles were turning out crappy so I was like, well I’m just making them for myself anyway! Naturally being a book person and seeing shops like Frostbeard, I couldn’t help but come ideas for candle scents based on my favorite books. Frostbeard is awesome (and I still buy things from them and support them even though I do make my own! I love supporting other businesses) but they didn’t have some of my favorite series like The Lunar Chronicles or The Grisha Trilogy. I had ideas in mind for those and knew I had to make them! I sort of felt like it was selfish for me to make these candles and not share them and as much as I’d love to just give them to my friends, that gets ridiculously costly to do continuously… So I decided to open a shop! I just opened it back in late November and it’s been so much fun so far. Totally nerve-wracking to sell something that you personally make to someone else — especially once people I didn’t know were buying them!! But also super, super exciting. I just want to share things like this with other book people to geek out over because I know I do the same! You can never have too much good book-nerdiness, right? 😀


 

With each Hump-day Highlight, I try to personalize the questions for the participant. Brittany is my third go-around and it was super hard narrowing down the questions I wanted to feature because she does so many neat things! Between blogging, helping run the OTSP Secret Sister project, and running an Etsy store, I don’t know how she does it all! Her obsession with YA lit and Harry Potter is something I definitely share! Besides, I’m addicted to good candles and if you are too, visit her Etsy store nowwwwwwwwwwwwww (all of those W’s were 100% necessary). Let’s take a look at her blog!

Brittany was kind enough to link us to everything, but just in case you’re too lazy to scroll back up, her blog is here. Once you’re there, I have one word for you: calming. Those pastel watercolor designs make everything feel homey but modern and up-to-date at the same time.

My favorite feature of the blog in general is the sidebar. It flows so well and is such a handy link to the more important features like how to connect to her social media, her most popular posts/special features, and her freaking awesome Etsy shop. (I literally have about ten of her candles in my cart, and you should too. Go here to buy all the candles!)

Basically, if you love keeping up with the haps (is that what the kids are calling it nowadays?) in the YA world, you need to know about Brittany’s blog. She’s all books, all the time. Check out her latest review and while you’re there stop and say hello to her!

2 thoughts on “Hump-day Highlight: The Book Addict’s Guide!

Leave a Reply

