Those Waves are a Beach

Good news, everyone! (Or bad news, depending on how you feel about my happiness??) I, for the first time in my entire life, got a short haircut and LOVE it. That’s right. In twenty years I’ve never cut my hair and been happy with it. I’ve always loved having long hair, and really one of the only things I’ve ever been confident in the beauty of is my hair. I borderline obsessed over it. The only problem was I didn’t have time to take care of it anymore. I only had the time, between school and work to wash it about three times a week. Each time I did, there would be borderline dreadlock matts. It was awful. So, I knew it was time. I decided to go for the Lob, which Khloe K., and J Law. made popular this season, amongst others. My stylist, which I will never part with again, was so patient and kind because I told her upfront I was paranoid.

And thus, my Lob was born. But now, what do I do with it? How do I get those perfectly messy tousled waves that make up the other half of this look? I went to Pinterest. Duh.

Basically the Pinterest advice I was getting involved a 1 1/2″ curling iron and texture spray, and came with the “EASY DIY” advertisement label. Okay, I bought into it. So, I got started.

I went to the Wally World and bought a curling iron and texture spray, came back home, and got down to business.

Effortless, Tousled, Beachy Waves in THREE Big Steps!

First, you’re going to need to wash your hair. Some tutorials are going to tell you to use some kind of specific shampoo and conditioner, but it doesn’t truly matter. Use whatever you normally use.

The drying of your hair is really up to you too. I let my air/towel dry about halfway and then used the blow-dryer to finish it off. Doing that tends to give my roots some extra volume.

bwaves1

bwaves2

After you get everything dried, you’re going to spray an even coating of your texturizing spray over those tresses. I used Schwarzkopf brand, which I found at Walmart for $6. I really love it.

bwaves5.jpg

Then you’re going to want to section off your hair. I did two, but you can do however many you want! I ain’t yo’ mamma!

bwaves3

Once everything is sectioned off, just start curling! I alternated each strand, so one curl faced towards my face, one away, one towards, one away, etc. Also, these aren’t really curls, they’re waves. But you get the point.

The most important part of the curling process is ROOT AND TIP lengths. You want to make sure you don’t include the tips of your hair in the curling/waving, so if you’re using an iron, just clip it about a quarter or half inch above the ends of your hair. If you’re using a wand, hold the tips with your fingers so the heat doesn’t apply to them. You also want to make sure you aren’t curling up to the roots. You want to leave about two inches of space there.

bwaves4

So, you’ve gotten this far and you’re thinking, “YES I DID IT I’M DONE AND I LOOK FABULOUS.” Well, yes you do look lovely, but you’re not quite done yet.

Before you finish up, you’re going to want to scrunch your hands through your hair, blending in the waves together. You’ll really start seeing that tousled look come through! Go ahead and spray another round of your texturizing spray now too, as you scrunch.

Now, you have the final look, but we need to make it STAY. No one has time to constantly touch up their hair throughout their day. So, once again I turned to Pinterest and found the perfect thing that’s not hairspray. (Because I hate hairspray.) I call this stuff my secret ingredient! Mix it up like the directions tell you, okay? BUT here’s where I’m going to tell you something important. DO NOT use a lot of this stuff. If you spray too much, it makes your hair crunchy and gross. So, to finish up and hold everything in place, spray a THIN THIN THIN THIN THIN layer over your waves.

Now, my pretties, you’re done!

“Marissa, that was more than three steps..”

No, it wasn’t ladies and gents!

  1. Wash and Dry
  2. Curl and Texturize
  3. Secret Ingreedient

Super easy, super beautiful.

Leave a Reply

