Watch Out, World. I Got Creative.

Direly in need of something to put upon my barren walls, I searched the interwebs far and wide for the perfect combination that went with my new room theme. The walls were freshly painted, a vanity/desk was painted, new carpet was laid, two bright white bookshelves were constructed, a DIY dresser was copied from Pinterest, and a headboard was purchased from Ikea. Everything, well everything except for the ceiling fan and blinds that have yet to be bought from Lowes, was finished. But my walls were bare. *cue sobs of despair*

At first I thought I wanted to go with a watercolor theme. So I natually went to etsy and found tons of cute watercolor themed prints. But everything there and on Redbubble wasn’t available for anything cheaper than $25. Nope. No thanks. I have lots of wall space and therefore would be spending a small fortune if I spent $25 per piece.

A few months passed, and by then my theme had changed. I wanted to make everything feel very cozy and relaxed (after moving back in with my parents, my room was the only part of the house that I could escape to). Instead of watercolors, I wanted to work with neatuals like black, white, and beige, as well as gold, purple, forest green, mustard yellow, etc. With that decided, I had absolutely no idea what I was going to do for artwork now that I didn’t even know what I was specifically looking for.Then, I got the bright idea to just MAKE SOME MYSELF. I mean, why not? I wanted something book related, and I wanted something that meant something to me. So, I visited Tublr and searched for what I had in mind. Harry Potter. I didn’t just want to plaster a picture of Daniel Radcliffe’s face behind my bed, so I went for something a little more subtle. I sent the prints to Walmart, bought some cheap-o frames, and BAM! In one hour I had a collage of awesomeness.

photocollage1

Please, please. Hold your applause.

I still had another wall to fill, though. But, being the ever creative person I am (lol not really), it didn’t take long for me to realize that this time, I wanted to do the same thing, but be a tad bit more meaningful. Sure, Harry Potter means a lot to me, but I can go deeper than that. So I thought about all of the characters that had ever meant something really special to me; all of the characters that changed my life. I found some really talented sketch artists’ work different places around Tumblr and sent those to Walmart to print as well. After picking up some more frames, the second wall was complete. Behold.

photocollage2.jpg

Doing all of that myself saved me a butt-load of money. The Harry Potter collage cost me just over $30. It could have been a little cheaper but I bought some special “deep-set” frames for a few of the pictures to spice up the layout a little bit. The character collage cost me around $15. It was so much cheaper because all the photos were 4x6s compared to my Harry Potter collage which had several 8x10s and 5x7s in it. $45 for two professional looking art sets makes me a happy camper.

I plan on doing something similar for this in the space above my double window and ceiling. It’s narrow, but I’m sure I’ll think of something.

All in all, it wasn’t a bad endeavor. It made me feel creative and it wasn’t too harsh on my budget. There’s a first time for everything.

(Note: None of these pictures were made by me; none belong to me.)

2 thoughts on “Watch Out, World. I Got Creative.

Leave a Reply

