How the Blogging Community Inspired Me

I’m a double major. I’m a double major in two English degree programs. Do you know what those two sentences mean? If I’m breathing, I’m writing a paper or reading an assignment. Add on the fact that one of those majors is an education major and basically I’m a living (sometimes I have to double check), breathing, student machine. On top of that, I work at my county’s humane society as well. Basically when I’m not at one place I’m at the other. It makes it really hard to do the things I love like watch bad reality television, read for pleasure… and blog.

I usually stay pretty up to date on Twitter, because it doesn’t fry my brain to type less than one hundred and forty characters. What does fry my brain is writing a blog post after having to write an essay for each of my three literature based classes I’m taking at the moment. At first I thought I was being whiny and just not committing to blogging the way I told myself I was going to. But then I realized that it just wasn’t realistic to push myself to write and read all of this stuff for classes, actually go to class, work, and write blog posts on a consistent basis! If I did, I would never sleep or eat. I realized I was comparing my situation to those of almost full-time bloggers. I cannot expect myself to crank out a few posts a week. I just cannot.

But the blogging community inspired me. I participated in two chats recently. One was #RQWN hosted by @ReadWriteLove28. Another was #BHPChat hosted by @thebooktraveler and @Emren. Throughout those two Twitter chats, I met some of the most lovely ladies in the entire world. They weren’t just encouraging me, they were encouraging every single blogger in the chat. Not a single person was scoffed at for being a newbie. It was so amazing to be completely surrounded by cheerful conversation and it honestly was the highlight of my week this week. So, as I was saying, the blogging community inspired me. They inspired me to blog once a week.

My new goal, however daunting with my schedule, is something I’m going to try my hardest to stick to. I’m not going to force myself to write a super long and detail and complicated discussion or book review or motivational blog. I’m just going to write SOMETHING. Anything. I know this goal will make me a better blogger and overall writer in the long run, which is why I’m 100% committing to it.

Over the last few months I’ve really been working on improving myself as a whole. You can see my post about my struggle with exercise lifestyle expectations here. Along with all of that, I think it’s really essential that I work on exercising my brain as well as my body. Just like with physical exercise, it’s going to take some time and a lot of effort. But I know I’ll be happy with the results.

I’ll share with you some advice that I’ve gotten over the course of my writing development and tweaked a little:

  • Write about what you want to write about. Do you like food? Write about cooking or trying different restaurants or your mom’s famous meatloaf.
  • Don’t write about something just because it’s popular. If you don’t like writing about politics, there’s no point in adding your opinion to the mix if it’s not that important to you.
  • Don’t let someone tell you what you’re writing isn’t relevant. Everything you write is important, even if not to someone else. That blog you just wrote about how much you love steak but hate politics? I probably made a Democratic Vegetarian mad, but it improved YOU as a writer.
  •  Your blog is your journal. Nothing is too personal or impersonal.
  • Share everything you write with your friends. Even if you’re nervous they’ll offer critique you don’t like, you’re still expanding your network and platform, and probably learning something new.

So go forth, my pretties. Explore the blogging and writing community. Be inspired! *does spot on impersonation of a witch cackle*

10 thoughts on “How the Blogging Community Inspired Me

  1. Don’t stress it! I worried about posting enough when I first started, but now I just try to do it as I get to it. Maybe I don’t finish a book for 2 or 3 weeks or maybe I read several in one week. Don’t stress it and just have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad you were able to make it to the #BHPChat! I’m sooooo excited to hear how you were encouraged and inspired! That was the point of the chat, to encourage one another and meet new people. I’m glad you decided not to stress about posts! I don’t. I work full time, have kids and am very busy in life so I blog when I can. There is no right or wrong way to blog. I can’t imagine how much writing you have to do with a double English Major so I’m inspired by your goal of one post a week. I actually abound give myself a similar goal. So nice to meet you!!!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Yay!!! Your chat was so much fan and it happened basically right after midterms so it was such a destresser (oh that is SO not a word) to chat with other bloggers. I look forward to doing it again!! It’s so good to see other people with busy lives blogging! THANK YOU! It was nice meeting you too! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. WOW! More power to you! I was a double major in Education and Psychology, and I didn’t even know what a book looked like unless it was required reading. Add a blog to that and I think my head would have fallen off…. Just try to remember that not posting is not the end of the world… Breathing is much more important. And this community IS absolutely fantabulous. We’re always here if you need help, or even just to vent! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU!!!! It’s such hard work but blogging is really a relief. Because for once I’m not writing for class, I’m writing for ME! I know it’ll pay off in the end, and that blogging will make me a better writer for my academics in the long run. Plus it’s fun! I might have to start scheduling breathing like I schedule blog posts. It’s the only way to get anything done! LOL 🙂

      Like

  4. First of all, I absolutely love this post. I love how you discuss topics on your blog that are personal, yet relate to everyone. I feel like a lot of book bloggers are over-achievers, and sometimes feel like they don’t have enough time to blog. I hate it when people feel pressured that they have to blog a certain way- because it’s not true! Blogging should be about what YOU want, not what everyone wants you to do. Also, I find it shocking that you mentioned me. Yes, shocking. While I know that people tend to enjoy RQWN’s (at least I think they do?), the fact that it helped to inspire you makes me feel- I don’t even know how to describe it in words. It’s just an incredible feeling, and for that, I thank you. I cannot wait to see what you post in the future- I know it’s going to be amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! This absolutely made my day. I love that you feel that way about what I’m writing! RQWN was something so fun and lighthearted that it made me realize how badly I wanted to make the time for blogging, even though I work and am going to college. It’s such a wonderful community. OTSPSecretSister really got me involved in it ten-fold, but your chat made me feel like I really belonged and was supported! Thank you so much!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

